Bookshelf Makeover

As every broke thrifter knows, furniture makeovers are the best way to save money when it comes to needing furniture pieces. I was in need of a nightstand and had a not-so-nice looking bookshelf that needed some updating! Perfect! My bedroom is a grey and light blue palette which is how I chose the paint color for this bookshelf. Usually I have “during” pictures of my projects but forgot to take them for this project.
20141105_151306_resizedI used:

Krylon Acrylic Latex Enamel paint, in the color Blue Ocean Breeze with a Gloss finish

20150211_174628

Silver polka dot wrapping paper purchased on Target

20150211_174710and Mod Podge

I started by painting the entire bookshelf with a single coat of the Blue Ocean Breeze paint. I let it dry for 30 minutes and then painted a second coat. I then laid the wrapping paper onto the back of the bookshelf to get approximate measurements. Next, I cut the wrapping paper with the exact approximate measurements to fit the back. This is NOT easy so don’t worry if you are a little off! Imperfections add character 🙂

Next, I spread an even layer of Mod Podge onto the back of the bookshelf. I did this with the bookshelf laying flat on its “back”. After spreading the Mod Podge, quickly lay the wrapping paper onto the back of the shelf. Mod Podge dries fairly quickly that is why you should measure the size you will need for the back of the shelf before applying the Mod Podge.

This is the final look.

20141108_195436_resizedPhotoGrid_1423700504637

Leave a Reply

