Thrifty Spring Decor Dos!

I hope you’ve had a chance to read my other spring decor project I posted earlier today. For this project I used: recycled glass jars, chalkboard paint, dollar store moss, and dollar store flowers. I’m not a huge fan of the dollar store flowers because I’m already not a huge fan of fake flowers to begin with but my oh so lovely budget calls for cheap fake flowers. For the glass jars, I just clean out pickle jars, gravy jars, tomato sauce jars, etc. I liked the idea of using different sized jars to make it more whimsical. I have used these glass jars for each season and just change the word of the season with chalk. That’s right, all FOUR seasons have the same amount of letters! (Spring, Summer, Autumn, Winter) Yes that’s right, I switched the word Fall to Autumn to make it work 🙂 Ironically, I can use the same amount of glass jars to spell Kansas and plan to put wheat in the jars during the summer when I get tired of “summer”. Anyway, I had already painted the glass jars with chalkboard paint and didn’t take a picture of doing so (it was pre-blog days).

I started by spreading green moss into the bottom of each jar. Again, I bought the moss from Dollar Tree and honestly I couldn’t be happier about how it looks! I then cut the dollar store flowers so that they were the height I needed. I used scissors and pliers to cut the flowers at the stem. This took a little work and made me realize I need to invest in wire cutters. I divided the flowers between each jar and obviously wrote the word “Spring” on the chalkboard paint circles. I’m not a huge fan of my handwriting so bare with the not-so-cute font. I’m going to finish the project by using the rope I used in the previous spring decor post. I’m going to wrap the top of the jars with the rope to give it more of a polished or finished look. What do you guys think? Any ideas on what to put in the jars besides flowers?

20150308_134943 20150308_140304 20150308_14041020150314_114651

2 thoughts on “Thrifty Spring Decor Dos!

  1. Oh, I love these! They’re so festive!! I seriously wish we had a Dollar Tree where I live. I feel like it’s a magical place where people can get super cute craft items from for… a dollar! hehe. Thanks for sharing this! Now to find me some empty pickle jars…. hehe!

    Like

Leave a Reply

