Thrifty Spring Decor

I’M SO HAPPY IT IS FINALLY SPRING! I was in such an “eh” decorating mood after I took down all my Christmas decor. Does anyone else have this problem? Anyway, as you probably know, I have a TIGHT budget. This means that when it comes to decorating, I need to come up with very cheap decor ideas. The following spring decor items were made from dollar store and Goodwill finds. I go to Goodwill or Salvation Army almost on a weekly basis. I have only been to the thrift stores in my town and the town I grew up in but today I’m venturing out to some thrift stores in fancy communities. My goal is to find cheap items to use for a candy buffet for my sister’s bridal shower but secretly I really want to find some nicer items to use for my house decor 😮

On to the spring decor project! I found the three tin buckets at the Goodwill back home. They were each .49 which is AWESOME! I also bought a larger tin bucket for $1.99 but haven’t figured out what to do with it yet. I bought the green moss from Dollar Tree as well as the colored mini eggs. I already had the white candle and will probably replace the mini eggs with two more white candles after Easter. I already had the rope which I bought at Michaels (I am obsessed with that store but who isn’t!)

Instead of having to use a ton of the moss to fill the buckets to the top, I crumpled newspaper and then set the moss on the top and sides. This helped save the moss for the other project I will talk about next. What do you guys think? Any ideas on how to change up the decor in the buckets?

20150308_141714 20150308_171624 20150308_171631 20150308_171609

Leave a Reply

