Farmhouse Table

Not only was this my first build, it was also THE TABLE FROM HELL. Everything that could go wrong, went wrong. From a whole box of screws stripping to my tools being stolen from my garage, this table has proven to be a deadly serious dedication. There were too many times to count where my eyes filled with tears and I wanted to just throw it in the fire pit and watch it burn to ash…..BUT I didn’t! With a great amount of support and motivation, I finished the damn thing.

I found the plans on Shanty-2-Chic’s Blog. They found the project on Ana White’s Blog. After doing several months of research, I found tons of blogs that featured this same project. I will admit, even after reading Ana White’s plans for the table, I thought this would be a pretty easy project. Maybe a weekend project? WRONG. This projected took a little over 2 months to complete! No….I didn’t procrastinate :p But seriously, if you haven’t built a piece of furniture before….or anything for that matter….prepare for project that tests your DIY skills, passion, mental thinking, etc. My number 1 suggestion before starting this project is to make sure you have every little tool necessary and that you know how to properly use them. You would think this would be obvious, but as you can probably figure out, I skipped that step.

The whole point of my blog is to show the steps to completing my DIY projects, however; I think the other two blogs listed above take care of that. I will just add my tips that I discovered while completing this monster farmhouse table :p

Step #1 Tip- Check the wood VERY CAREFULLY to make sure the piece of wood isn’t warped or crooked.

Tip- If you are inexperienced with woodworking, I suggest asking a friend to help. Meet Sage. He is a coworker and somehow I managed to get him to help me…….fix every step I completed without his presence haha. But seriously. THANK YOU SAGE! His face sums up how everyone who helped me with this table felt.

20151021_16395020151021_163952

20151021_154638.jpg20151021_154643

The first step or 2 was to build 2 of these bad boys. This honestly was probably THE hardest part. As if you can’t tell in the pictures, my boards were very uneven which made them bow when screwed to the other pieces. This is when Sage suggested putting shims in between certain boards to try to level the boards. Again, thank you Sage! After much frustration, trial and error, and almost tears….I finally had 2 of these built.

Once the legs were built, I filled the screw holes in with wood filler. I purchased this Elmer’s WoodFiller at Walmart and it worked wonderfully (seriously a SURPRISE)

Wood filling tip- I have seen wood filler bottles/containers that said “stainable”. This bottle didn’t, but included other details so I figured it was the same thing. While it did stain, a little, I would recommend buying a container that specifically states “stainable” because the stain didn’t cover the filler very well.

20151101_16561120151101_171527

Meet helper #2, my wonderful dad. He helped me SO MUCH in completing this table. He is also the one that adequately nicknamed this project “Table from Hell”. Below, he is finishing the center of the table. I honestly can’t determine who put in more work on this bad boy. I purchased the wood, made the cuts (mostly), filled the screw holes, sanded, and stained the table. I also completed a few “building” steps but I’m pretty sure EVERY screw I screwed was fixed by Sage or my dad. Sigh.

20151112_19224720151112_192252

Below is a picture of the table top. It is connected by the 2x4s that are the top of the legs. My dad created this magical way to be able to take the top off the base when you need to move it. This was a great idea because the table top by itself probably weighs 250 lbs. Kidding, 175 lbs ;p20151101_171520

20151112_192301
Size comparison, I started sanding the top at this point because I was getting excited 🙂

AND HERE IT IS! IN ALL ITS GLORY! I’m 99% sure my eyes were filled with tears of…..HAPPINESS and relief. Now it was my turn. Sanding and staining.

20151112_19451220151112_19451620151116_17251620151116_17264620151116_17462720151116_174634

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I used three different grits of sandpaper. I sanded the entire piece with 80 grit to start. I then went over the top with 120 grit (including the sides of the top, don’t forget these!). There were certain areas on the legs that I also sanded with 120 grit after the staining process due to the color I wanted. I used 220 grit after applying the stain. I recommend using a tack cloth (I purchased mine at Walmart) to wipe the piece after the sanding process. I wiped my entire piece SEVERAL TIMES.

Once I was satisfied with the smoothness of the table, I started staining. As you can see, I used classic grey stain by Minwax. I was very hesitant on choosing a stain because I didn’t want to not like the stain after all the damn work that was put into this thing! After many hours of IG research, I decided on classic grey. Don’t freak out about how dark the stain looks at first! You can easily spread it out which gives it a lighter color. I recommend setting the table on scrap wood so that you can stain the legs without picking up dirt from the floor.

I let the stain set for 24 hours before I wiped the entire piece with tact cloth. I wanted the table to be as smooth as possible before applying the polyurethane. I only stained the table once because I really liked the worn look. I used clear satin polyurethane. I then let the polyurethane dry for another 24 hours. Next, I sanded the entire top with 220 grit.  After I sanded the top with 220, I again wiped the top with tact cloth. Tact cloth was my friend. I recommend applying at least 2 more coats of polyurethane to the table. I have yet to do this step because I ran out of polyurethane and was WAY TO EAGER TO BE DONE WITH IT/DECORATE IT/PUT IT IN MY HOUSE.

So here it is, in ALL OF ITS GLORY! I plan on building (I seriously can’t believe I want to build something after this nightmare) a bench for one side. I have 3 hand-me-down chairs that I am staining/painting for the other side (you can see 2 of them in the pictures below). As for the “head of the table” chairs, I will hopefully be spending extra dinero on upholstered chairs. What do you guys think? YOU BETTER LIKE IT OR ELSE! I’m kidding….kind of 🙂 There are PLENTY of imperfections with this table BUT I wouldn’t have it any other way. This project was a true test of my “hobby” and I’m glad I stuck it out, with some help ;p

20151128_18430820151128_18431720151128_184329

3 thoughts on “Farmhouse Table

  1. Stunning table! I know all about the tears! That’s part of DIY. I’ve been doing DIY for over 30years! It’s a spectacular build! The color is amazing too! WELL DONE! Insert cheers here*** Happy Christmas and best wishes for the new year to come! Peace, Koko❀

    Like

Leave a Reply

